My friend Lama Margaret Ludwig Dow

My friend Lama Margaret Ludwig Dow, encouraged me to write a series of books and booklets on dealing with issues effecting seniors and seniors to be; including dealing with everyday challenges we face with our own aging parents.

It has been a monumental task and a very difficult and frightening one I may add; to think, I could even write a book for seniors!?
I know from my own experience I may be able to write about those dealing with physical or mental rehabilitation….however, to write now a series of books, which I have completed, for seniors seemed, at the time, to be an impossible engagement of courage, faith and belief in ones self.

And all the areas I felt I was lacking myself! I feared truly being able to even write about something I have never/not experienced myself. I have always been a writer who only wrote about what I already know or have experienced myself.

Sure, of course, you say, I have been influenced by my own surrounds and being around my own great grandmother in Italy and grandparents in Italy and Montreal; this did truly change my image of myself, and what I am capable of, yet it also created a sense a great security not found in being around the youth or even my own parents.

By Being around the older generation and my elders, gave me a greater feeling of my true Self. It allowed me to tune into their field of consciousness and connect with their concerns, joys, humor, ideas, excitement and so on….
And a feeling of Ease, always came over me, and excitement in surrounded the air, sharing their wisdom, knowledge, and experiences with such unconditional love.

It was always about enhancing ideas and evolving together in stimulating conversation.

Lama Margaret, said back in the early 1990’s when we met: “Peter all you have to do is care for just one other person in this world and there will be no lonely people on this planet.”

And she was right, and I went out to set out on continuing what I always did while my sister Isabella was alive:

to be caring open and understating. Always supportive and unconditionally loving to her, and all whom I meet.

I’d say I am no where close to passing that test, yet, I’m sure that everyday I’m improving and getting better than I was yesterday.

As my father and mother always asked us as kids,
“what did you learn today that you didn’t know yesterday?”

This is how we can live, with an enthusiastic attitude; to live life each an everyday … like this.

Thus, I hope we can share this journey together in one community yet as all unique beings and individuals:

As I read in Stephen Covey’s book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, as sentiments, my father, mother and myself choose to live by,

Dag Hammarskjold, past Secretary – General of the United Nations, once made a profound, far-reaching statement: “It is more noble to give yourself completely to one individual than labor to diligently for the salvation of the masses.”

https://petersammarco.wordpress.com/

20130121-001028.jpg

One Response to “My friend Lama Margaret Ludwig Dow”

  1. Robin Says:

    A pleasure meeting you. Your presence shines wherever you go. Thank you Sir.

Leave a Reply

